Ignore the Pity Party Behind the Curtain

I didn’t think I’d be where I am about now, feeling sad, frustrated, helpless and depressed.  For the last month (at least) I’ve been feeling happy and fairly optimistic, and I had all these grand plans for the week following my birthday that involved food I didn’t have to cook, drinking and games with friends (and also after Sundance since lots of people I know are busy then).  Now I’m cancelling everything except dinner with my parents because I don’t feel like I could fake my way through the happy face I’d have to put on.

I’ve been meaning to find a new psychiatrist for a while because I’m sick of having untreated ADD, but now I’m thinking that I need to find one to help me sort out some emotional shit that has knocked me on my ass.  There’s just one problem: I have no idea where to start eliminating therapists who will treat my atheism as a reason for unhappiness and depression when nothing could be farther from the truth.

So I’m starting out a search to try to figure out who will be dispassionately helpful, who will subtly pathologize my worldview and who will blatantly tell me that I would be happier if I found God.  Fun!