The Ocampa Would Be Extinct

I started watching Star Trek Voyager on Netflix streaming.  If you don’t like the series, fine, but I admit I’ve always kind of liked it.

But there’s a problem.  I didn’t notice it when the episodes first aired, but now that I’ve seen it I can’t un-see it.  There is no way that the Ocampa could exist as a species, they would be extinct.  And it has nothing to do with a short lifespan, that doesn’t matter in any event.  It is clearly stated that their species is capable of only having one pregnancy (which produces only one offspring) in a lifetime.  That’s not even replacement birth rate.

I can suspend my disbelief for all kinds of shit in a science fiction show.  But this seriously damaged my enjoyment of the show.  (It’s science fiction after all.)

