Baked Banana Pie

I have invented a thing that I’m confident is actually a new thing in the world. And it’s delicious.

It is banana pie. Not like banana cream pie or a pie including bananas, but a baked pie that the main ingredient is bananas. And like a few of my favorite dessert recipe ideas, it came from a mostly forgotten dream.

It occurred to me that mashed banana is a lot like fresh pumpkin in texture and I wondered if anyone had ever tried to modify a pumpkin pie recipe to use bananas instead. So I turned to Google and was surprised to discover that no one seems to have done so.

I was compelled to try it. For science.

Slice of Banana Pie

Here’s the recipe.

UPDATE: I have since made this pie a few more times and I have some substitutions & shifts I think make this better.

  1. Use very ripe bananas to reduce the starchy/bready texture the pie can have when the starch in bananas is less converted to sugar.
  2. Bake said bananas to further break down the sugars, also this is now when you add rum, spices, some brown sugar & a little lime for complexity & prevent weird oxidation. It also helps your banana mash to be softer/more filling-y. Just slice the whole banana in half lengthwise, put in a baking dish (I use glass usually), sprinkle with a little brown sugar & spices, top with some smallish amount of butter (if desired), pour on some dark rum & lime juice. Bake at 425 for maybe 30 minutes.
  3. Okay, here’s the thing. Your base filling is now much sweeter than the green bananas this recipe first called for. You do not want to use sweetened condensed milk anymore. Use approximately 3/4 of a 14 oz can of evaporated milk instead.
  4. Other than that, proceed normally.

Ingredients:

  • 3.5 cups mashed banana
  • One 14 oz. can of sweetened condensed milk
  • Three eggs
  • Vanilla
  • Dark Rum
  • Cinnamon
  • Cloves
  • Pie Crust*

*I’ll be honest, I most commonly just use these.

Preparation:

The nice thing about making banana pie instead of pumpkin is it is much quicker to whip up than a fresh pumpkin pie.

First you get your crusts sorted out, whatever that means for you. I’m mostly not an ambitious purist so I let refrigerated ones warm up and unroll them into my pie plates.

Next, preheat your oven to 425°.

Next up you mash up a bunch of bananas until you get to 3.5 cups. I’d recommend not using bananas that aren’t too ripe, since you get some sweetness from the sweetened condensed milk and you don’t want the pie to be too cloying. Put it in a bowl (unless you don’t have an immersion blender, but you really should get one. They’re incredibly useful, make clean-up effortless and are currently less than $30 on Amazon.)

Add the can of sweetened condensed milk, eggs and vanilla to the mixing bowl. Next add however much rum sounds good to you. (For flavorings like vanilla or alcohol, I basically never measure them. Eyeballed pours all the way.) Normally I’d use Myer’s because it’s the basic dark rum we usually have; for this recipe I was out, and used the somewhat fancier Kilo Kai we picked up a while back.

Regarding spices I do the same sort of “hey-that-looks-good” type of measurement for liquid flavorings. I was cautious with the spices for my first attempt, using just cinnamon and cloves, but I’m looking forward to tinkering in the future.

Pull out your immersion blender and process the mixing bowl contents so they’re silky smooth. If you don’t have an immersion blender, I would suggest using a food processor to smoothly blend together the banana and sweetened condensed milk, and using whatever mixing device you usually to to beat together the rest of the ingredients.

Hot Banana Pie Out of the Oven

Put the filling in your pie plate and bake at 425° for around 25 minutes. Then turn your oven down to 350°. Bake for another 30-35 minutes (variable on your oven, altitude, etc.) until the pie has set up. A knife inserted should come out clean just like with pumpkin pie. Once it’s finished, pull it out, allow it to cool and chill in the fridge.

Serve cold topped with whipped cream just like pumpkin pie. It’s delicious.

