My Family Has An Awesome Accidental Tradition

Today is my fifth wedding anniversary.  It seems like both too short a time and too long.  It seems strange to think I’ve been married for five years, but it also feels like ages since Thrack became a central part of my life.  We’ve known each other since 1997 and have been friends all that time.  We’ve been in love since 2001 and I can’t imagine what my life would be like without him.  I married him on 25 May 2007.

On that day, I repeated a mistake of my mother’s and I love that.  When my parents were married, she was so nervous she shoved the wedding ring on my father’s right hand, rather than his left.  When Thrack and I were exchanging rings, he moved to adjust my veil, but he used his right hand.  I thought he was putting his hand out for me to take, so naturally, I put the ring on it.  Completely on accident, I echoed my mother and I love that I have a connection with her tied to my wedding.

I love my spouse.  Every day is a joy and a gift.

