I Love Busty Girl Comics, Plus Let’s Talk About Bra Shopping

I have a complicated relationship with my boobs.  Like my mom (and to a lesser extent, my paternal grandmother), I have been busty from adolescence onward.  It has nothing to do with weight.  I’ve been underweight, I’ve been relatively fit, I’ve been overweight.  And I’ve always had disproportionately large breasts.

I used to fantasize about someday getting reductions.  But as I’ve gotten older and more comfortable in my skin, I’ve realized that while I’m often frustrated, inconvenienced and sometimes pained by being busty, my breasts are a permanent part of my conception of self.  What’s more, once I got past a gut fear of embracing my sexuality as a person, rather than hiding it, I started being able to appreciate my breasts and feeling happy about my proportions.

That doesn’t eliminate frequent frustrations and inconveniences that come from being busty, but there are sometimes perks to balance that out.  In any event, because I can identify with so much of her artwork and humor, I’ve come to really appreciate Rampaige’s insights whether perks or problems:

Busty Girl Comics: Obscured View

There is something nice with having someone who not only understands the viewpoint of busty people (because she’s also been great about recognizing trans men having experience with breasts as well), but who is able to find humor in daily little incidents that I’d never even think to mention.  What’s more, I love that she draws a variety of body shapes, because “busty” is far from universal and despite the feeling I sometimes get while clothes shopping, women have highly varied figures.

But while Rampaige has lots of pointed criticisms, she also has a great handle on casual whimsy.  This, for example, is me pretty much every day after work:

Busty Girl Comics: Underboob

Feels so much better!  Although I have to say that the picture is lacking red lines from underwires.

But aside from just general comfort and weight, being busty is frustrating for one very important reason: bras.  There is no viable way for many of us to go without the support during the day, and to get a bra that fits, they often seem like giant monstrosities designed to ballistic standards and cost a damn fortune.  What’s more, if you’re on the bigger end of cup sizes, many stores simply pretend that you don’t exist.  To be more specific, as far as department stores are concerned, I don’t exist.  Because I need to buy 36H size bras.  Ever see those in a store?  The answer is no way, are you fucking kidding?  And if a store does have a single bra in that size, it is a nursing bra 95% of the time.  Because no one could possibly need that band size and that cup size unrelated to pregnancy and childbirth.

Busty Girl Comics: Cost of Comfort

A few years ago, I discovered a great online store so that I could actually get a choice in styles my size that don’t make me feel like I am a frumpy beast wearing a painful collection of straps, and metal cages and buckles.  They are fairly affordable (as far as bras go, which isn’t exactly saying a lot), have a great selection including some that make me feel pretty and sexy in a comfy bra, and have a good exchange policy if you order a bra and find that is just does not fit when you try it on.  When sizing is atypical, there are fitters notes, and the user reviews are incredibly helpful in weeding out bad products.  I’ve found that prioritizing items that win their “undie awards” tend to be good, well made options.  Plus every so often they have sales, which can make a big difference.  HerRoom had a recent 20% off deal that was nearly the cost of one more bra in my order, which was a big deal.

Because honestly, bras are incredibly expensive.  My Grams would be scandalized to hear me admit it, but I don’t buy bras often.  I just can’t stomach the cost.  This recent order was the first time I’d bought new ones in two years and I spent around $260 for five.  It felt like a steal.  When the package arrived on my doorstep it felt like magic boob Christmas.  I’ve gotten to know my favorite brands and styles and was delighted that a style similar to one of my previous favorites (also made by Freya) is even more comfortable than the one I’d tried before.

But as much as I’ve come to terms with (and even most of the time like) my boobs, sometimes when my back and shoulders hurt and I’m feeling tender, sore and heavy, I look down and think, “Can’t I just take these fuckers off for a day or two?”  I mean, look at them!

Busty Girl Comics: Grand Canyon

