Photographic Vignettes # 23

I went to a wedding over the weekend at the Cathedral of the Madeleine.  I admit I’ve always had a particular fascination with churches and cemeteries, and I have a great deal of affection for the local cathedral.  For one thing, despite having a super traditional looking neo-Gothic style, the interior is far more colorful and cheery than you might expect.

I also have a good deal of nostalgia and sentiment attached to the building; my cousin was in the choir for years, so much of my childhood was filled with concerts there.  In high school, I gave a concert there.  A close friend once played a mild prank on me by timing our climb of the bell towers such that we were right above the bells when they chimed the hour.  I thought I was going to fall to my death.

A cathedral wedding is far too big for my taste, but it was nice enough.  They even opted for a simpler service that didn’t include a full mass, which was nice.  There was a big gap between the wedding and reception which was awkward, but there was a lovely view of the sunset to make up for it.

Western Tower

Entryway

Gothic Exterior

Wide Interior Shot

Column and Ceiling

Sycamore Lined South Temple

Sunset from Rice Eccles Stadium

