Photographic Vignettes # 11

The great museums are all incredible in their own way, and there is something to unique about the Uffizi or the Orsay.  The Louvre is a monster, and I admit I’ve viewed it in smaller slices.  However, imperialistic thievery aside, I’ve always had a soft spot for the antiquities section.

Poor Goose

Thrack and I visited just this portion of the museum our first day in France when we were both exhausted & jetlagged to hell.  It’s part of the trick I figured out about traveling West to East: I stay awake on the plane, and force myself to be up and functioning until I simply can’t go on (usually around 7 or 8 p.m.).  Then I crash and crash hard.  It seems to jump start getting acclimated to the new time.

Sample Column

Requiring more sleep than me to function, Thrack did his best to stay awake, but we didn’t cover much ground that visit.  Although he’s told me that he’s incredibly happy we took the chance to see the Stele of Hammurabi.

Stele of Hammurabi

I’m also glad I was able to show Thrack my favorite sculpture.

Borghese Hermaphroditus

Stone Relief

Mythic Creatures

Seriously Massive Sculptures

Nike

Sphinx

Boy and Goose

