Photographic Vignettes # 4

So far I have focused on pretty landscapes or wildlife without any urban pics.  I’ve actually toyed with the idea of making a custom coffee table book (just for myself) containing some of my favorite things about Salt Lake.  I have a ideas for non-touristy little quirks.

Here a few little slices of my hometown.  First up: an incredibly awesome sculpture that was in the front yard of house not far from my parents’ house.  It’s a raptor.
It's a fucking raptor

There are a number of old signs around town that are no longer in use, but which are still around because others love them as much as I do.

Nu-Crisp Popcorn Sign

My mom tells this story about how when she was a child, my grandpa pointed to this sign and told her older brother that they were going to get him an ice cream “just like that.”  But when the cone arrived, my uncle began to cry.  When asked what was wrong, he claimed it wasn’t the same as the one he was promised; grandpa didn’t understand, saying it looked just like the one on the sign.  But Stephen just cried harder, saying “I want a bigger one!”

Snelgrove Ice Cream Sign

This giraffe is very nearly my favorite thing about my neighborhood and that’s saying a lot.  It’s at the back corner of someone’s backyard, facing the street outside.

My Neighborhood Giraffe

Ever since I was a kid, I have inexplicably loved this rusty old chimney.  I have no explanation.

Metal Boiler Chimney

