Photographic Vignettes # 1

Today I’ve decided to begin a regular feature and start sharing photographs from our photo album. They could be old or new, but always what I want to share.

The idea was inspired lately by my state legislature’s actions regarding federal public lands (which I’m still organizing thoughts about), as well as the horrific ideas by Florida Representative Cliff Stearns, who believes not only should we never again create national parks, but that we should consider selling off existing ones to fix short term economic problems.  Thanks to them I have been thinking about wildness and the joy, indescribable connection and transcendence I find in this land of the West I love.

Sandstone Pockets and Faces

This photograph was taken during a late September camping trip to Calf’s Creek in 2007.  This incredible sandstone vista is located at the bottom long canyon not far from Boulder, Utah.  We were taking a drive on the Burr Trail road toward the unpaved tracks of the Grand Staircase-Escalante National Monument that lead to Wolverine Petrified Forest.

Phantasmagoric Hoodoos, Long Canyon

Unreal Earth, bottom of Long Canyon, Burr Trail Road

Later on the dirt roads, we watched occasional tarantulas creep along in the dry water channels lining the road, seeking shelter from strong winds.  We saw no other cars.  We were alone with the endless sky, stony vistas, magical hoodoos and gnarled, patient trees.  It is my kind of paradise.

Desert Cedars

