What Has It Got In Its Pocketses?

I suppose I’ve not talked about my lasting love for J.R.R. Tolkien’s books before on this blog and that seems terribly neglectful of me.  My first copy of LOTR trilogy is “well loved” in a very Velveteen Rabbit sense, and though I’ve replaced it with a softcover and a beautiful leather version, I still can’t bear to get rid of the originals, even though their covers have fallen off, spines have been taped and the front pages feel almost fabric-y.

I had some complaints about the LOTR trilogy adaptation as the films went on, but I’ve mostly been able to reconcile them as almost different retellings.

Which leads us to FUCK YES, it’s The Hobbit.

I’m not sure how many times I’ve rewatched this trailer; I’m terribly excited and I like that they seem to be doing it as a frame story.

Of course, they’re already making me nervous; why the hell is Galadriel in the trailer?  I’m also not wild about how the makeup on Dori, Nori and Ori look; plus does Thorin look like only half-dwarf to anyone else?  But I choose to be optimistic.

Can you promise that I will come back?

No.  And if you do, you will not be the same.

HOBBITS! HOBBITS! HOBBITS!

