Same Excuse Every Damn Time

I’ll be frank about something: I do not understand anti-gay or anti-trans prejudice.  It simply doesn’t compute for me, and I am bewildered every time I encounter such bigotry, no matter how carefully it’s couched in “pro-family” clothing.

So when I see lots of anti-gay animus that wraps itself up in the same tired lies over and over again, I get furious but I also feel tired.  I’m tired of feeling like it’s still okay to hate gay people if you just hate them in the right way, and make sure that no hard evidence can contradict your bullying behavior.

I wrote a while ago about a couple who were initially asked to go back in the closet, then ejected from a Southwest flight for the most mild of kisses.  Now it’s a couple asked to leave a coffee shop because of mild and healthy public affection, and the excuse is the same: because they were engaging in an “excessive” or “unacceptable” level of touching in public where *gasp* families might see them!

And you know what, I think that these fellow customers anti-gay bullies who push for businesses to discriminate are basically all fucking liars.  We are letting them get away with these lies every time we ask whether it’s possible the offending gay couple did kiss too much or touch each other in an inappropriate way.

So fuck those people and fuck the businesses that cave to pressure from bigots.

On a related note, it appears that one of my favorite organizations seems to have influenced a bill that is coming up for a vote in the New Hampshire House’s Judiciary Committee tomorrow.  They want to eliminate marriage equality in New Hampshire and they’re following a familiar script of pretending it is truly about supporting families, rather than discriminating against types of families and love they don’t approve of.

The vast majority of children are conceived by acts of passion between men and women – sometimes unintentionally. Because of this biological reality, New Hampshire has a unique, distinct, and compelling interest in promoting stable and committed marital unions between opposite-​sex couples so as to increase the likelihood that children will be born to and raised by both of their natural parents. No other domestic relationship presents the same level of state interest.

It is beyond me that they can resort to such sleazy tactics which have the bonus of also disparaging the value of adopted children to their families.  Classy folks.

