When Did I Become Dependent?

Today is day 7 without internet access at home.  We predicted it wouldn’t be that big of deal because we have smartphones with unlimited data plans (actual unlimited, not the fake unlimited the larger carriers tend to offer).  But turns out there were a few flaws in that idea.

The first is that phone internet doesn’t really translate to providing access to Netflix streaming or the Rachel Maddow show we access through “Internet TV” in Media Center.  It also doesn’t provide connectivity for Steam, which has showed great reluctance to launch and work offline.

The second problem is that my house is located in a Sprinthole.  And my office is giant abstract layercake of concrete rectangles that doubles as a cellular bunker.  So basically the idea that having Android phones would cushion the gap between moving DSL lines last Monday to and having awesome fiber from UTOPIA installed this upcoming Thursday was totally wrong.

I found over the weekend that we really have come to rely on being connected electronically with pretty much everything.  It really must be the future when internet connectivity feels like a necessity, rather than a nice thing to have; also, it makes me feel old that this change basically crept up on us.  We don’t watch much TV, and we never watch live TV (hooray for being able to make the home PC/gaming computer/movie and television playback device into also a DVR) so we found ourselves rather lost on what to do with ourselves when waiting for laundry and whatnot.

We tried to keep ourselves occupied with things like the newly released (and beautiful) Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet, but we’ve been rationing it a bit, plus the level we’re on turns and twists in a way that has been making me motion sick and giving Thrack headaches.  We played Castle Crashers until it started causing Thrack headaches.

So in madness, we turned to terrible movies from the early 90’s.  Yesterday we watched both Surf Ninjas and the first Ninja Turtles movie.  Now, I know they were never a beloved part of my childhood, so they don’t have the same patina of nostalgia for me that they do for Thrack, but those are some godawful movies.  I was also struck while watching that there was a homophobic joke in Ninja Turtles that I totally missed when I saw it growing up.  Rationally I know there’s no reason for me to have noticed it was there (the movie came out when I was 7) but it still bugged me that I didn’t notice it.  As for Surf Ninjas, well, it’s simply consistently terrible.

I can’t wait for the tech to come wire the house for fiber optics on Thursday; service will start sometime after that, not sure of the date.  I’ll probably have a long and excited post about the local fiber we’re getting from UTOPIA once it gets up and running.  I get to ditch Comcast and Qwest-soon-to-be-Century-Link and move to what is actually a newer technology, while encouraging the city to invest in local infrastructure.  I’m very excited.

