Owning Animals is a Privilege

I like dogs.  This is obvious.

I like that people have dogs, and I like that there are a myriad of rescue options for those interested.  I do not believe that people or companies have any inherent right to own them.  After reading about the mass killing of sled dogs in Canada, I really wish that you had to get approvals before you could get a dog.

My Twitter friend Starangel has addressed this particular case in far more detail than I care to go into, but seriously, this company saw no other option but killing?  I can’t imagine that humane society type organizations and rescues wouldn’t have gone to great lengths to take dogs that had become a financial burden and find homes for them.

So what this case comes down to is greed, laziness and callous disregard.

Tags: ,

One response to “Owning Animals is a Privilege”

